The Lank Tank

Why so serious?

Not so much the King of My Castle

Posted by lanktank on November 25, 2008

OMIGOD!

I just found out the correct lyrics to that cheesy, dance track “King of My Castle” by Wamdue Project and I’m mortified to say it’s not what I’ve been singing all these years.

Don’t ask how this song and revelation came up in convo (God, don’t you hate it when people say “convo” – it’s conversation Lamebag, I know those two extra syllables are SUCH a luss to say but just do it so you don’t sound like a complete fucking A-hole) but it did.

While I’ve always thought it was: “Must be the reason why I’m King of my Castle…must be the reason why I’m queen of my trestle”

It’s in fact: “Must be the reason why I’m King of my Castle…must be the reason why I’m free in my trapped soul.”

Which, OK, now when I think about it, makes far more sense. How did I not get that? And what’s a trestle anyway? I’ll tell you, according to The Free Dictionary by Farlex:

1. A horizontal beam or bar held up by two pairs of divergent legs and used as a support.

2. A framework consisting of vertical, slanted supports and horizontal crosspieces supporting a bridge.

 

So why would someone be Queen of one of those? As far as I can make out, it’s a beam that supports a bridge. That’s like me saying I’m the Duchess of my teapot… ridiculous. Although I like the idea of being a Duchess. Who do Duchess’ marry? Duke’s? But don’t Duke’s marry Dames?

So, this leads me to the question of what other songs have I been getting wrong all these years? You know, those songs you’re like, 96% sure of the lyrics… “I’m pretty sure, I mean, I can’t be THAT far off…yeah, I got this.”

Au contraire!

Here’s just a couple of tracks I’ve been getting wrong since they were released… oh the humiliation!

Kelly Clarkson – Since you’ve been gone:

I thought: But since you’ve been gone; I can’t pee for the first time”

Is it: But since you’ve been gone; I can breathe for the first time”

Black Eyed Peas – My humps:

I thought: “I drive these suckers crazy; I do it on the daily”

It is: “I drive these brothers crazy…”

Fall Out Boy – Sugar We’re Going Down

I thought: “We’re going da daaa da da da now
And Sugar, we’re doo doo doo swinging
I’ll be your number one with a bullet
I know you’re in the cockpit, cock it and pull it”

It is: “We’re going down, down in an earlier round
And Sugar, we’re going down swinging
I’ll be your number one with a bullet
A loaded God complex, cock it and pull it”

And those are just the songs I’m willing to share. You don’t even want to know what I thought the

lyrics for In Da Club by 50 Cent and Respect by Aretha Franklin were.

The other problem is even once I have figured out the correct lyrics, it’s almost impossible to change. I still find myself saying “queen of my trestle” but I know it ain’t right! And there’s nothing more annoying than having to hear someone singing along to your favourite hit on the radio and on top of that, not knowing the words. Disgraceful!

Whatever happened to Wamdue Project? I really thought they were going to take off? Maybe the problem was they called themselves Wamdue Project.

Are there any lyrics to songs you were sure of? Only to find out you couldn’t have been wider off the mark!

I urge you to share. Please!

Go ahead, make my day*

*And that is Clint Eastwood from Sudden Impact… I don’t want to start getting movie quotes wrong now too!

3 Responses to “Not so much the King of My Castle”

  1. evert said

    “Go ahead, make my day*”
    In Lipstiek Dipstiek its something like :
    “This is a mamba, pomp action haelgeweer. The most powerfull enkelloop shotgun in the whole new South Africa. If you even think of moving, I’ll shoota like the kak spat! So go ahead punk, make my days!”

  2. evert said

    Before “This is a mamba….. “, he said : “Freeze doos!!! This is a mamba”…

  3. inhahe said

    I thought “queen of my trestle” (which i also had thought the song said – you’ve just disillusioned me) was kinda pretty. it may not make sense directly, but it’s kind of nice in its artistic ambiguity, or lack of patness, as something to contemplate. she’s fixated on the idea of her support? she needs a bridge to somewhere, and she’s already on top of it?

    wow, these new lyrics are really obvious now i know them and i’m listening to it. it actually makes he song prettier.. because it’s deeper. I wonder how I could have missed that either!

Leave a Reply

 
