The Lank Tank

Why so serious?

Overheard

Posted by lanktank on December 18, 2008

Whats uuuuup?

How goes everyone?

A lot of my friends, when they email me, often write the words, ‘WHOOP WHOOP’ after making particular statements. For example, “Only 2 more days until I go on leave… WHOOP WHOOP!” Sometimes, there’s no H, so it’s just, “WOOP WOOP”

I’m not entirely sure what this is about? From what I can gather it means one is excited about something, like WOO HOO! Is this the same thing? Do WHOOP WHOOP and WOO HOO have the same meaning? If so, I’m coming down on the side of WOO HOO. To me it feels more passionate, more expressive and far more emotional! When someone says WOO HOO, I really feel their excitement about getting their drivers license or coming home for Christmas.

Join me in the fight for WOO HOO – don’t let this dying word become extinct!

Anyway, the point of this entry:

http://www.overheardinnewyork.com/

One of my favourite sites… oh so funny! Check it out when you have sometime. You know how I feel about it?         WOO HOO!

I think I’ve made my point.

One Response to “Overheard”

  1. C Dawg said

    “woop” is a loose derivation of the gamer slang word “woot”.

    Now don’t even get me started on gamer speak; I never know what the hell these kiddies are talking about.

    “Woot, I pwnzed this dude’s boxen!’

    Yeah, that makes perfect sense. In fact, I remember saying the exact same thing after helping my friend move all his stuff to his new flat.

Leave a Reply

 
