The Lank Tank

Why so serious?

Knowing Me, Knowing You

Posted by lanktank on January 6, 2009

I may need help. I’m not sure I’m ready to admit it yet but rather nudge and imply that it may be a cause for concern…

I’ve started to, kind of, just a smidgen, like it’s so tiny it’s hardly noticeable… enjoy… ABBA. Now before you freak out, it’s not what you think. I don’t like LIKE them but a few weeks back I was unwillingly talked into watching Mamma Mia (the movie). The reason I was unwilling was specifically because I didn’t want to listen to ABBA covers for an entire feature film. But alas I sat down and began to watch what could have only been a waste of my (not so) valuable time… except…

It wasn’t! I found it semi-pleasant! It was set in Greece and everyone was so bright and cheerful and they could all coordinate the most amazing dancing routines at the drop of a hat! What was even more surprising was the amount of ABBA songs there actually are! I didn’t even know they sang half of them.

Don’t get me wrong, it became torture towards the end. By the last few singing numbers, I was like, “Enough already! I’m losing my mind! Come on and END…now!” But up until that moment I had found myself quite jovial from the whole experience.

Because of this, my now EX Work Manager (who I’m sure is a closet ABBA fan) gave me the Greatest Hits C.D. as part of my farewell gift from departing the old workplace. I scoffed as I took it and although I thanked him I knew all too well that I would never touch that album even if it had naked pictures Christian Bale in it (Mmm, Batman…naked).

A few weeks have since gone by with never a thought of it since and then today, the strangest thing happened:

Friday night and the lights are looow, looking out for a place to goooo, where they place the right music, getting into the swing, you come to look for the king… Anybody could be that guuuyy! The night is young and the music’s hiiigh. Where they play the right music, everything is fine, you’re in the mood for dance… and when you get the chance… You are the Dancing Queen, young and sweet only seventeeeeen….dancing queen feel the beat from the tambourine, oh yeah! You can dance, you have ji-hive having the time of your life… oooooOOOhhh, see that girl, watch that scene, take in the dancing queeeennn,”

popped into my head!

Look, I was just as surprised as you. I tried to get it out of there. I started talking to myself in the street like a crazy person, battling to reason with my head and when that didn’t work; demanding myself to know the meaning of this sudden outburst of Dancing Queen.

It couldn’t be stopped and suddenly madness struck! ABBA songs just started shooting into my skull faster than you could say, “Stop shooting into my skull ABBA songs.”

They were all there, all the classics, “Money, Money, Money” ; “Take a Chance on Me” ; “Lay All Your Love On Me” ; “S.O.S” and of course, “The Winner Takes All.”

After the experience was over, I went home, cracked open the album, and I swear to God, as I type, I’m listening to, “Mamma Mia, here I go again, my my, how can I resist you!”

Sweet Lord. Am I done? Is this the end of me? Can I ever go back? To the way things were?

Please note: The re-enactment of the verse to Dancing Queen was purely my own rendition of the musical number.

3 Responses to “Knowing Me, Knowing You”

  1. Luway said

    I must say Dancing Queen is a classic… and a great karaoke (I hate that word, I know I’m spelling it incorrectly but I don’t know how to correct it) song… always a winner!!

    Can’t beliwe Mamma Mia was good, it looked horrendous in the trailer. Did you know it is the highest selling DVD in the UK’s history… apparently it smashed all records on the 1st day of release… I know, Gasp!

  2. C-Dawg said

    Because of Mamma Mia!’s financial success, a Hollywood studio chief told The Daily News that it would take a while, but there could be a sequel.

    Apparently, there are still plenty of ABBA songs to use…

  3. ex Work Manager said

    hehehe….Don’t forget the cool hidden track a minute after the last song

Leave a Reply

 
