The Lank Tank

Why so serious?

Can’t afford Office Standard 2007?

Posted by Carl Schutte on January 29, 2009

This blog entry was brought to you by C-Dawg

Well then, Office Home and Student 2007 might be for you.  Although according to some community tips on the product page, maybe not.

What are community tips, I know you’re wondering?

“Community tips are bits of advice about the content you find on Office Online. Unlike most of the content on this site, community tips are written by people like you in the Office Online community.”

Phew, that’s comforting; here I thought cyberspace was filled with freaks, but they’re just people like me in the Office Online community. I’m not entirely sure what this community is, but I’m pretty sure that I’m still waiting for my membership card.

So, let’s see what our fellow advice givers had to say:

Posted by Loren A. Boston

“When I open my Microsoft Word or other office products, it has a banner at the top which says, for example, “Document1 – Microsoft Word – non-commercial use”. How do I get rid of this language? I bought Microsoft for personal use, and I don’t want this somewhat insulting language – which seems to suggest I am using the software for anything other than what was intended.”

Man, Lauren has one guilty conscience. Sure Lauren, everybody in “the community” bought Office for personal use… we’re all innocent. How dare a piece of software reprimand you for using it for something other than it was intended? I use and abuse software all the time. Why, just the other day I wrote an entire business proposal in Winamp. It didn’t turn out too well and we lost the deal, but the important thing is that an inanimate piece of software didn’t judge me for doing it. I have some wise words from Billy Madison for you Loren: “Stop looking at me, swan.”

2 Responses to “Can’t afford Office Standard 2007?”

  1. Girl Next Door said

    you’re a swan

  2. C-Dawg said

    Now how did I know that you liked swans…

Leave a Reply

 
