The Lank Tank

Why so serious?

Valentine’s Day: What’s the crew getting up to: Part 1

Posted by lanktank on February 10, 2009

So… dare I say, the dreaded V-day is approaching us. Foreseeing some sort of joke anyone may suggest about that standing for Vagina Day (eh-hem Kappie), I’m talking about the one, the only, the very painful: Valentine’s Day.

No matter how much we try pretend that “it’s a nothing event on the calendar” and “it’s just something card companies make up to sell more… well, cards,” we still cannot deny that inevitably we end up doing something on this day.

Trying to get a feel for what everyone else’s vibe is for the day of the 14th (it being on a Saturday as well) I put the question to the crew: What are you guys doing for Valentine’s Day?

C-Dawg:

OK, so normally Valentine’s Day is a day that doesn’t even show up on my radar – I’m usually single.
However, this year I find myself in an awkward predicament. It all started this weekend…

I was down on Clifton 4th on Friday evening watching the sunset… magical, simply magical! Anyway, the lads & I proceeded on to La-Med.
Somehow we managed to secure a table by being in the right place, at the right time. My evening started to look up when two cute girls asked if they could squeeze onto the end of our table.

Anyway, long story short… I got the one girl’s number.
I strategically sent an SMS on Sat, before calling her on Sun.
I find that first sending an SMS helps build rapport, thus increasing your chances of them answering that first call.

So, she seems like a nice girl & we’re meeting up during the week.
Only one problem, Valentine’s Day is around the corner and I barely know this girl – I can’t handle that kinda pressure. The way I see it I have 2 options, break up with her or actually do something romantic for Valentine’s Day.
Decisions, decisions…
You know what, normally I’d just call the whole thing off, but this is a new year, so I think I’ll do something thoughtful & romantic for a change.
I’ve got enough time to research on the internet for romantic ideas…

And FirstChild?

Nothing too extravagant planned. A quiet evening at home. I have some free online video lectures I’ve been meaning to watch. Something light, like basic probability with applications to machine learning. Maybe I’ll treat myself to a glass of red wine.

After the lectures, I think I might try and crank out a few problems. I might have some Godiva chocolate, a little present from myself to me. Maybe after the red wine and chocolate I might try and drunk-G-Chat FirstEx (“Ms Big”)  who is probably going to be out having fun with some new man.

Check out the others tomorrow….

6 Responses to “Valentine’s Day: What’s the crew getting up to: Part 1”

  1. Girl Next Door said

    C-Dawg, does one sms and one phonecall constitute as something that big that you actually need to ‘break up’?

    FC, priceless

  2. Captain Awesome said

    I’ve broken up with chicks because it was getting too close to Valentine’s day or their birthday – I just can’t deal with all that gift pressure so early on in the relationship.

    This doesn’t make me a bad person… does it?

    Comment by C-Dawg | February 1, 2009

    you should remember your own advice!
    get out while you still can

  3. luwie said

    I’m spending it with my true love… Hopefully they can beat the Sharks!!

    Super 14… February the 14th… Coincidence??? Yes.

  4. Rox said

    I’m spending VD somewhere cool with my wingchick, so I get drunk and ignore this stupid mushfest!

  5. C-Dawg said

    Did you ever watch the episode of Seinfeld where George realises that the secret to success is for him to do the complete opposite of everything he normally does… I watched that episode last night.

    I think it’s a sign, telling me to throw caution to the wind and take a chance on love! I’m gonna do something nice & sweep this girl off her feet.

  6. BeatNic said

    Ha ha ha ha! FC makes me feel good about…me.

Leave a Reply

 
