The Lank Tank

Why so serious?

Oh, were you about to leave?

Posted by Carl Schutte on February 13, 2009

This blog entry was brought to you by C-Dawg

OK, time for my mid-week rant… Now, I would like to know if this is something they teach at managerial school. I wouldn’t know because I’m not a manager… yet. I should be – I’m great at delegating. I don’t know why they haven’t made me a manager yet, but that is a topic for another day.

The issue I have for today is that my manager has this great skill of striking up a conversation with you  just as you’re about to leave. The timing is impeccable. It goes a little something like this:

09:00 “Hey Manager Bob, we really need to discuss those numbers, so I can get them out to my client by close of business today.”

Manager Bob: “Sure thing C-Dawg, let’s pick this up after my morning coffee…”

10:45 “So Mister Manager, could we have a quick chat about those numbers?”

Manager Bob: “Oh gosh darn it, I just gotta go do a quick thing for a somebody or another; definitely after lunch though.”

“OK, but I’m leaving at 16:00. (That’s how C-Dawg rolls)”

Manager Bob: “No probs – first thing after lunch”

Anyway, the day keeps going on like this, until 16:00 eventually rolls around. I’m getting up from my desk, my bag is slung over my shoulder, my keys are in my hand – everything short of wearing a billboard that says “I’m getting the f**k outta here bitches!” When all of a sudden, I hear a voice drift in, like a cool summer breeze.

Manager Bob: “Oh C-Dawg, were you about to leave, because we can quickly chat about those numbers…”

“Me leaving, no… I was just on my way to the bathroom. Sometimes when I’m sitting on the toilet I like to pretend that I’m driving my car; that’s why i take my car keys with me.”

Long story short, he always ropes me in for 10 min, which results in me getting stuck in traffic! It’s not just me he does this to, it’s everybody. It’s like he has a 6th sense; maybe they help you develop it in managerial school…

I need to find a way to dodge this guy. Suggestions?

7 Responses to “Oh, were you about to leave?”

  1. Kappie said

    I got a couple suggestions but all of them involve you getting fired or arrested.

  2. craig said

    hahah hilarious! I have mastered the art of ninja skill when leaving the office. No one hears, sees or knows anything.

  3. skaaptj0p said

    Give him a power-point presentation, only, instead of using bullet points use real bullets.

  4. craig said

    PS. Am I still in the akismet filter? That bloody thing refuses to learn(as they so put it) and keeps trashing me as spam.

    Bastardo’s!

  5. FirstChild said

    Yes, you are. I am manually permitting your comments. Any ideas how to fix this? FC.

  6. C-Dawg said

    It’s becoming aware…

  7. Craig said

    Sweet. Ye i emailed a few other wordpress bloggers and asked if they could unspam me aswell. Hopefully its now all sorted. Will test when im back at work. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
