The Lank Tank

Why so serious?

Bullet for my who?

Posted by lanktank on February 27, 2009

This blog entry was brought to you by Dmeister

As a lot of you know “My Coke Fest” (Zero Fest isn’t working for me) is coming up soon. The obvious main attraction for most of us to go to My Coke Fest is the chance to see some international bands, and this year will be no different with a line-up consisting of Oasis, Snow Patrol, Panic at the Disco, Red Jump Suit Apparatus and Bullet for my Valentine.

Now it’s Bullet for my Valentine that seems to be puzzling me only because everyone keeps asking, “Who are they?”And I keep on replying, “How do you not know?”

But how can I expect anyone to know who they are, considering the fact that I don’t think 5FM (Official Coke Fest Sponsor) has actually ever played a Bullet for my Valentine song on their radio station. Don’t you think they could play at least one song every now and again? It makes perfect sense to me but tragically I don’t think it’s occurred to them. I suppose they have to keep meeting their endless quota of the same top 40 pop songs that they play everyday. Heaven forbid we hear something different.

And on that note here’s my low down on Bullet for my Valentine:

They’re a heavy metal band, so expect aggressive guitars and thumping bass and drums, not drum and bass, that’s different. Also if you’re a Britney fan it’s best to stop reading here, I don’t think that they’re the band for you. You can go back to your Barbie dolls and pink dresses, no harm done.

Well about the band; originally they’re from Bridgend, in Wales and cite their influences as being: Metallica, Pantera, Machine Head, Iron Maiden, Slayer, Judas Priest and Megadeth etc. etc. So if you like any of these bands then definitely check them out. It’s not often that South Africa gets metal bands here so if you don’t watch them, don’t expect more bands to come. Currently the band has two albums: “The Poison”, and “Scream, Aim, Fire”

I thought I’d ease you in to their music so here’s the video for one of their older songs, “All these things that I hate (Revolve around me)”

Bit chilled, but I’ll post a heavier song in the future.


Leave a Reply

 
