The Lank Tank

Why so serious?

Howzit?

Posted by Carl Schutte on March 12, 2009

This blog entry was brought to you by C-Dawg

Now being the Cape Town boy that I am, I rather like using the “howzit” greeting. However, it has come to my attention that I may be saying it wrong…

I think deep down we all know that “howzit” is a contraction of the “how is it” from “how is it going”. Nevertheless, I don’t feel that they mean the same thing.

The way I use “howzit” is like how you would use a “hello” or a “top of the morning to you”.

So, under normal circumstances when 2 people pass each other the conversation goes something like this:

Person 1: “Hello”

Person 2: “Morning”

Then they just keep walking past each other. I think we can all relate to this situation. Well, imagine my surprise when things didn’t go like this for me – they went a little something like this:

Person 1: “Hello”

C-Dawg: “Howzit”

Person 1: “Oh, not that great, I think I’ve caught some kind of rash. The doctor says it’s not contagious, but my girlfriend still doesn’t want to touch me.”

C-Dawg: <Insert look of speechlessness here>

This seems to be happening to me more often than not lately. People seem to think that I’m adding a question mark after my “howzit”, then proceed to fill me in on the details of their personal life. In case you weren’t paying attention, other people’s problems don’t rank very high on C-Dawg’s priority list. It catches me off guard every time. I reply with the most standard greeting I know, expecting that it’ll free me from this encounters, but instead I’m pulled back in.

Needless to say, I’ve been standing in front of the mirror practicing how I say “howzit”. So, if I say “howzit” to you, please don’t proceed to tell me about your “under the weather” goldfish and the fact that she might not make it…

C-Dawg out

2 Responses to “Howzit?”

  1. Captain Awesome said

    so so true,
    i once got stuck in a 5 minute convo with someone who misinterpreted my “howzit” to a “howzit?”

  2. craig said

    haha this happens all the time. I see it and experience it too, usually @ the proverbial office water cooler.

    Ive noticed Afrikaans people tend to say the usual “im okay thanks and you?” . – They always just okay.

    how is that – cricket
    Hoe sit – Afri
    How is it – Engl

    I wonder where exactly it came from? Or who misinterpreted who.

Leave a Reply

 
