The Lank Tank

Why so serious?

Diff’rent Tastes

Posted by Carl Schutte on May 19, 2009

This entry was brought to you by C-Dawg

OK, so I haven’t really had that much to complain about lately. I don’t know if it’s due to the cold weather or perhaps there’s something in my water. Either way, I’m not going to question it too much, it seems to have had a positive effect on my karma. Why just today, I bought a coffee machine and got R100 off the price due to somebody putting the wrong price on the box. It’s fantastic when you spot that price that just doesn’t look right – normally you expect the item to be priced higher than the others, but every now & then, somebody on the inside does you a favour and underprices the item. Man, is that feeling sweet! So as I say, my karma’s looking good, so until it turns around, I’m going to try to be a nicer person. You know, ride this thing for all it’s worth & all that jazz. Sadly, today’s post is not all about how I got an awesome coffee machine for R100 less than the RRP…

Something I’ve noticed, but I have never Googled, is how different things taste different depending on what you eat/drink them with. Has anybody else noticed this?

For example drinking coke out of a mug just tastes weird; it really tastes best out of a glass.

Eating yoghurt (or some other dairy product) with a plastic spoon tastes different to eating it with a regular stainless steel spoon. Even just tasting your food off the woodedn spoon while you’re cooking tastes slightly different – which probably doesn’t make it a good idea to season your food based on the wooden spoon taste test.

I’ve never tried drinking tea/coffee out of a glass, but I’d imagine that it might taste strange.

Water boiled in the microwave is different to water boiled in the kettle; it almost seems to foam a bit – not sure if I should be concerned about this.

Obviously beer out of the can tastes markedly different to beer out of the bottle.

What about in high school, when your mom gave you cooldrink in that little lunch box bottle; cooldrink definitely tasted different out of that thing! Did anybody else’s mom try to give them coke for school – what a disaster that turned out to be – you only make that mistake once!

Did anybody else every lick the terminals of a nine-volt (PP3) battery – the rectangular one – when they were a kid? It had this weird electrical-metallic taste. Actually, that battery story probably explains a lot…

Seriously though, is it just me or do these things actually taste different?

Maybe you have some other examples…

I can’t understand it, it must be purely psychological; I can’t believe that we’re actually ingesting small bits of mug or spoon when we eat things.

It also doesn’t seem plausible that there’s a reaction occuring, resulting in some sort of molecular reorganisation.

Anyway, let me know. C-Dawg over & out!

Leave a Reply

 
