The Lank Tank

Why so serious?

Anyone got deo?

Posted by lanktank on May 20, 2009

So I possibly made a social faux pas the other day at work. I was having one of those days where I’d put a lot of layers of clothing on because I hate being cold and in the morning you can never tell how the weather is going to pan out.

Unfortunately once I arrived to the office, I couldn’t get the clothing to heater temperature ratio right. With my jacket on and the temperature in the office as it was, I was too hot. However, with the jacket off and just my long-sleeve tee and v-neck on, I was too cold. Dilemma.

I decided to leave the jacket on, until the point where I began to perspire… just a smidgen, nothing horrendous, but at that moment, I would take the jacket off.

Feeling just a little aware of the fact that this is a little strange, I turned to the work colleague next to me and quietly asked, “Hey, do you by any chance have some deo I could use?” (I thought, everything should be fine, but just in case, let me put on some protection…anti-perspirant protection.)

Work colleague next to me responds (a little louder than I’d hoped): What do you want?

LT(eh-hem, at a low murmur): Deodorant… do you have any?

Work Colleague: Na, sorry –

And before I could interject, this is what ensued…

Work Colleague (to the rest of the 17 people I work with): Hey guys! Anyone got deo for LT? She’s feeling a little stinky over here.

Before I could even blush, the amount of pithy remarks spewing out people’s mouths was already at an overwhelming rate.

Now every time I walk past someone, they hold their breath, or say things like, “Anyone seen LT?” “Uh ya, can’t you smell, she’s right behind you?”

Great! You feel a little self conscious one time…. and I’m stuck with this forever.

Suppose it will only be a matter of time until I resign now…

Leave a Reply

 
