The Lank Tank

Why so serious?

Classics vs. Moments of Insanity

Posted by lanktank on August 12, 2009

Remember the songs that took the world by storm. I’m not talking about your average number one that spent a couple of weeks on the billboards. I’m talking about the songs that we all went mental over!

I’ve been pondering over a few and as I reflect, I feel that with some of the songs, we were justified in playing them over and over and over again. They were/are Classics.

But then there were the ones that we’re all guilty of listening to and when I think back on it now…really, what were we thinking? These were our Moments of Insanity.

Here’s my list…what do you think?

Classics:

Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen
Hey Ya – Outkast
Livin’ on a Prayer – Bon Jovi
Yeah – Usher
Hit Me Baby One More Time – Britney Spears
In Da Club – 50 Cent
Ice Ice Baby – Vanilla Ice
Jump Around – House Of Pain
Gangsta’s Paradise – Coolio
Rehab – Amy Winehouse
Sandstorm – Darude

Moments of Insanity:

Macarena – Los Del Rio
The Ketchup Song – Las Ketchup
Mambo No. 5 – Lou Bega
Blue – Eiffel 65
Umbrella – Rhianna
Kriss Kross – Jump
Achy Breaky Heart – Billy Ray Cyrus
I’m Too Sexy – Right Said Fred
Tubthumping – Chumbawumba
Cotton Eye Joe – Rednex
Who Let the Dogs out – Baha Men

On the Fence (I can’t decide):

Wannabee – Spice Girls
My Heart Will Go On – Celine Dion
YMCA – Village People
500 Miles – Proclaimers
“MMMBop” – Hanson

Anymore? What do you guys think? Have I categorised appropriately?

12 Responses to “Classics vs. Moments of Insanity”

  1. Baino said

    Kriss Kross – Jump, a moment of insanity?! What are you thinking LT?! That song was legendary, it almost inspired me to wear my clothes back-to-front….almost.

    Anything by Celine Dion should be on the moment of insanity list!

    Great post otherwise LT.

    Baino

  2. Luwie said

    Sweet Jesus, I have lost all respect for you…

    Most of your “classics” are horrific at best but none more so than Amy Winehouse. Sweet Moses smell the roses!

  3. C-Dawg said

    Whilst on the topic of music…
    I just found out that it’s spelt Daughtry – as in Chris Daughtry.

    I’ve always thought that it Was Door-Tree.
    That makes more sense than Daughtry.

    WEIRD

    Crit of LT’s picks to follow shortly

  4. C-Dawg said

    I’m with Big-L on this – nothing by Winehouse can be considered classic; besides, it’s only 2 years old.
    I don’t own the CD single of any of your classics. In fact, the only one I have on my PC is Sandstorm.

    I like Rihanna’s Umbrella song. I just watched the music vid, which is kinda lame, but she’s hot, so I’d still like to stand under her umbrella – if you know what I mean. 😉

    You’re on the fence for Spice Girls? Allow me to pull you back over to the side of sanity – FAIL.

    My Heart Will Go On – more like this song deserves to go down a toilet.

    MMMBop came from their album Middle of Nowhere – that’s exactly where Hanson stayed. You know all three of those brothers are already married!

    In closing, I’m very concerned by the songs that stick in your head. I’d forgotten about most of these; thanks for bringing pack the painful memories. My first slow dance to Celine Dion – man, that was whole basket of awkwardness!

    If you want to talk about REAL music, let’s talk about the 80s…

  5. Luwie said

    C-Dawg, I agree with you… how Umber-rella-a-ella-ella made the fail list is beyond me. Cheesey song but a helluva lot better than many of those “classics”.

    I am worried that you know the name of the Hanson Brothers’ cd.

  6. LT said

    Ok firstly, “Westlife Boy” (you know which one you are) – I’m not reeeally sure you’re one to be judging considering your C.D. collection (Drops of Jupiter springs to mind). This is an objective review – songs that EVERYONE went nuts over…the world, as a whole. I’m not talking about that Smashing Pumpkin classic or the Goo Goo Dolls timeless hit (Slide or Iris?). Or Mr Jones at 4 in the morning… although, that maybe should’ve been up there. These are the cheesy pop songs clubs went crazy for.

    And secondly “Badger nerd” – I hate to do this but I’m officially evoking Executive Power here and vetoing all animal video clips you send my way. I’m sorry it had to come to this….

    So why don’t the two of you go suck it! 🙂

    (OK, I’ve yelled…keep reading, I love you both!)

  7. Luwie said

    You’re dead to me… Drops of Jupiter is a classic and don’t get me started on the Pumpkins.

    But let’s see, club classics? Top of the list – I kissed a Girl by Katie Perry. It gets girls kissing. Nuff said.

    For the classics, I would also throw in 99 red ballons and Scatman’s World…

    PS: You still haven’t explained Rehab

  8. LT said

    Maybe I relapsed… huh?
    Scatmans was rediculous but totally should be up there. Nicely done.

  9. C-Dawg said

    It’s a groundhog, not a badger.
    I mean we’re talking rodent vs. weasel.
    Speaking of which, I quite enjoyed Groundhog Day – big Bill Murray fan.

    Wow, Scatman really did have stuttering problems – I thought that was just a urban legend.
    If you remove the cheesy scat-sing lyrics, it’s quite a cool 90s dance tune.
    I quite enjoyed Scatman’s World too.

    We need more songs that gets girls kissing.
    Rumour has it that it’ll save world hunger…

  10. C-Dawg said

    “Train has found success on modern adult contemporary radio stations, where they have had eight songs in the top 20 of the Hot Adult Top 40 Tracks chart.”

  11. Luwie said

    In your face LT! (i would place a smiley emoticon here to show I am joking but I am so against emoticons of any form that I cannot do it)

  12. LT said

    “modern adult contempory” – what is that?
    Oh yes, something my gran used to listen to…

Leave a Reply

 
