The Lank Tank

Why so serious?

Man in the Mirror – Literally

Posted by lanktank on August 19, 2009

This is something I’m not proud to admit but up until about 3 years ago, I used to think the song, “Man in the Mirror” by Michael Jackson had a completely different meaning. It’s so obvious I know, but when I was growing up I swear to God, I thought Michael was literally talking about a mystical, whimsical man that lived in his mirror, that only MJ could see when he was looking into it.

Kind of like Snow White or Narnia, or one of those other non-fiction tales….

Anyway, I just assumed MJ would talk to this mirror and ask the man living in it (who was obviously tremendously pale, with wispy long hair and a super extensive beard… maybe wearing a grey or charcoal overcoat) to “change his ways” thereby, making the world a better place to live in for all.

Look, you hear it now, it sounds ridiculous, I feel you, but I became indolent following the lyrics and it seems, made up my own conclusion. And then it just stuck.

Of course, reflecting on the song now, there’s a pretty great albeit serious message to this catchy, dance track; “Hey guys, while enjoying the sweet melodies of my music…let’s not forget to change our views and actions and make this world a safer, happier and stronger economically, place to be in.”

Not, some evil-sorcerer-magic-mirror man, who may or may not have had the power to destroy us all. I see where my mistake was now.

“And no message could have been any clearer,
If you wanna make the world a better place,
Take a look at yourself, and then make a CHANGE.”

Leave a Reply

 
