The Lank Tank

Why so serious?

Flag Memories

Posted by lanktank on September 8, 2009

Last week, the family went out for dinner as a sort of farewell to FirstChild as he returneth to The Big Apple. And during the many of the intellectual discussions we had throughout the course of the dinner, (“What are the different types of pasta’s?” – “Peter Sellers funny voices” – “The Office UK vs. The Office US” and “Will Robbie the dog live forever?”) FirstChild reminded me that I used to be the Flag Monitor during 9th grade in high school.

I had to pause for a second and let the memory come flooding back. Yes, it was true. I had been Flag Monitor for a year. For those of you who are unaware of a Flag Monitor’s duty, it involves attaching and then hoisting the South African flag up the pole in front of the school building every morning and then taking it down again every day after school.

I had done this for a year and yet somehow had completely forgotten. A year! A year, of walking to the office, making lame ass chit chat with the secretaries, picking up the flag, tying the required knots and then pulling it all the way to the top. Only to take it down again and fold it in that “special” folding technique, thereby making it easy to use again the next day.
How did I get involved in something like this? Who had made me do it? I assume it must have been a punishment of sorts as this was something I doubt I would have volunteered for, considering that throughout my entire high school career I volunteered for not much more than pencil.

I’m just surprised I had not remembered I’d ever done it. It’s funny how things just disappear from your mind until something or someone triggers a memory and suddenly it all comes flooding back. Like, how I used to make excuses for being late in the morning because I was having “flag issues” or how my one friend and I used to bet who couldn’t take their textbook out during an entire lesson before the teacher noticed, and then kicked us out. Or, in summer how everyone ate Orange Maid ice lollies, or that time I tripped on stage in front of the whole school and fell flat on my face….

Some memories are better left in the vault.

4 Responses to “Flag Memories”

  1. FirstChild said

    Quality post, LT. But I think I missed the Peter Sellers funny voices chat. I was probably talking to M.O. during that about whether we were having the Linefish / Calamari or sharing. I also had flag duty, but I think I always managed to get someone else to do it for me – the same way I never did my woodwork homework or made any tackles during rugby games.

  2. Jimbo said

    Some memories are better left in the vault.

    Like that one time at Springboks…….

  3. LT said

    Ok Jimbo, it’s quiet time now

  4. C-Dawg said

    Shame, it sounds like school was pretty tough on you LT – I feel I’m beginning to understand a little bit better – the pieces are finally falling into place.

    Oh yes, I also volunteered for a pencil once – let’s just say that I’m never doing that again!

    I was a prefect, but that’s not embarrassing.
    If anybody knows me from school, what embarrassing stuff did I do?

Leave a Reply

 
